Trees

I’ve had a fascination with trees for the past couple of years now.  I love looking at them, I love walking under them, I love drawing them in class, I just flat out enjoy trees.  They’re just a beautiful piece of God’s wonderful creation.  The other day I was driving and admiring the clouds and, once again, thinking about trees.  That’s when it hit me…trees are the workmanship of God and are displaying His work in absolute, utter perfection.  They’re doing just what God made them to do…stand there, be beautiful, and display God’s glory.

This made me think though…am I displaying God’s glory in absolute, utter perfection?  Am I taking part in all that He created me for?  Isaiah 43:7 says that we are formed, made, created for His glory.  We are made for His glory!! Think about the human body for a moment…nerve impulses to and from the brain travel as fast as 170 miles per hour, your nose can remember 50,000 different scents, and your body gives off enough heat in 30 minutes to bring half a gallon of water to a boil.  Now these are merely a few facts, but whoever created something like that I think deserves some credit…right?

Unlike trees, though, God took it a step further with us…He sent His son.  1 Corinthians 6:20 tells us that we we were bought at a price, so we must glorify God in our bodies.  Romans 15:8-9 says,”For I tell you that Christ became a servant to the circumcised to show God’s truthfulness, in order to confirm the promises given to the patriarchs, and in order that the Gentiles might glorify God for his mercy.” Christ came, died, and rose for us…not the trees.  So, other than the neat, natural stuff that my body displays everyday about the awesomeness of God’s workmanship, what am I doing to display His love, His mercy, and His sacrifice?

The trees are doing their part to glorify God…are we doing ours?

5 thoughts on “Trees”

  1. “Some people in order to discover God, read books. But there is a great book: the very appearance of created things. Look above you! Look below you! Read it. God, whom you want to discover, never wrote that book with ink. Instead, He set before your eyes the things that He had made. Can you ask for a louder voice than that?”
    ~ St. Augustine

Leave a Reply

